Poem a Day for April – Day 19 – Mumbai II

I’ve committed to writing a poem a day for the month of April as part of National Poetry Writing Month.  This is day 19.

19th April

Mumbai is … (part 2)

a humpbacked cow

surrounded by manic traffic

munching contentedly

as if in a meadow

 

students sipping cappuccinos

in air conditioned coffee shops

discussing assignments

over wi-fi connected laptops

 

Women swimming

and laughing

in full saris

on Chowpatty Beach

 

Train carriage

safe haven

‘Ladies Only

For All the 24 hours’

 

a red light at every intersection

drivers respond with

“hear my horn

I’m coming through”

 

copyright Mike Hopkins 2012
7 thoughts on “Poem a Day for April – Day 19 – Mumbai II

  1. Heehee, ‘Hear my horn / I’m coming through’. Another lovely vignette, MH. I want to hear more about that traffic cow-ntroller though… 🙂

  2. I’m really enjoying these Mike. Great images. And so evocative of the relentless simultaneous contrasts (often extreme) that are my memories of India.

Please tell me what you think?

