Titles (probably a bad title for a blog post)

1860_leavesofgrass_thayer_eldridge_nypl

Interesting judge’s comments from the 2016 “Over the Edge” literary competition in Galway. Niamh Boyce writes:

A word on titles, in general they were awful. Weak, with a last minute feel about them. The title allows you to direct a reader through your work. In a poem in particular, it allows you to say something that you have not said ‘in’ the poem. This does not apply to some of the winning and commended – but in general the titles were horrific. With such a high quality of writing, and such strong various voices in the entries, weak titles were a constant. They should not be an afterthought, the work deserves better, have fun, work on them. It didn’t affect my judging I might add, it’s just a general observation. “

I feel a New Year’s resolution coming on: take more time thinking about titles.

 

Copyright Mike Hopkins 2016

 

 

4 thoughts on “Titles (probably a bad title for a blog post)

  1. Good advice – thanks Mike. I find they sometimes come easy and other times I struggle to get the right one. Too often I end up opting for the obvious. I’m now thinking I should go back and revise a few 🙂

Please tell me what you think?

