Incident at the Exercise Park

This is the fifth assignment for the MOOC, “Whitman’s Civil War: Writing and Imaging Loss, Death, and Disaster“, through the University of Iowa.

This assignment is as follows:

In words and/or images, compose a piece in response to a memory of conflict, war, loss, or trauma that includes two or three central sensations: perhaps a sound that corresponds to or contrasts with a sight, perhaps the feel, noise, and smell of a place. 

I was walking one evening last week, through a nearby park used in the evenings for dog exercise. Out of apparently nowhere, a chicken appeared in the middle of the park. All hell broke loose. I’m pretty sure the chicken jumped the fence from a nearby house owned by an elderly Italian couple, who keep chickens in their back garden.

I’ve killed two birds with one stone here (pun intended) – I was meant to write about my trip to Mildura Writers’ Week last month, to share with fellow travellers Heather Taylor Johnson, Gay Lynch and Louise Nicholas. They all managed to write about Mildura, but I cheated and wrote about a chicken instead. Thanks to Heather, Gay and Louise for reviewing this poem. The version here is 2nd draft.


Incident at the Exercise Park

Blue Heelers, Poodles, Terriers, Retrievers,

all bustling eagerness, romping,

rolling, off leash on cold evening grass.

 

Drenched air, lemon scented gums,

a yellow glow from the old-folks home washes

over the iron fence. Cars sweep by, headlights

beaming, wipers swishing.

 

Above the smell of rain, of overcooked greens

and thickening gravy, of grass and gums:

the sudden presence of chicken.

Bemused, disoriented, strayed

from some backyard run into foreign territory.

 

A madness grips the animals,

a predatory reflex: chase, kill,

taste flesh. Everything is bark and bite,

hunter and hunted; a churning

of legs, ears, teeth, a helter-skelter

of fur and feather. The panicked bird

fleeing the snap of teeth.

 

In the cacophony, owners bark orders, call

hounds to heel. A man leaps into the whirl,

whips the stunned chicken from the chomp

of jaws, shields it under his jacket.

The clamour subsides in a fug of wet fur

and drooling maw. Charges are muzzled,

collars clipped to leads; a smear of blood

wiped from nose, a feather plucked from lip,

warnings delivered against ever again behaving

like animals.

 

Copyright Mike Hopkins 2016

 

5 thoughts on “Incident at the Exercise Park

  1. GM,

    I tried to comment, but I’m having problems with WordPress. I vaguely recall having such problems before when I was on a PC (as I am now – iMac is gone). No idea what’s wrong. I try to comment & it automatically populates the fields with my details – so it obviously recognises me. But when I try to post it tells me I’m not logged in. Up pops a log in window, with my id & pw (pw is stored in Firefox). I and it shakes its booty & tells me I’m wrong. So I start again, re-enter my comment & nothing happens – neither rejects nor accepts. After about 5 mins I close the window & start again, posting the same comment (I’ve copied it into my buffer). This time when I post it, it tells me “Duplicate comment detected; it looks as though you’ve already said that!”. /Huh? Must’ve worked. Maybe I need to refresh./ So I go back to your email & hotlink. Nup, my comment’s not there.

    So I give up & instead I’ll email my comment to you. What I tried to post is:

    Some good lines here! I particularly like “owners bark orders” (haha) and “a fug of wet fur”.

    CR

Please tell me what you think?

