Book Review: “Deloume Road” by Matthew Hooton

Deloume RoadDeloume Road by Matthew Hooton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I met Matt Hooton at a recent Adelaide literary event, where he read some of his work. He reads very well, in an almost hypnotic, low-key way. I got talking to him briefly afterwards, and discovered he came from Vancouver Island. I cycled up Vancouver Island about 10 years ago, and rode through the area of Mill Bay where his book, “Deloume Road” is set.  I bought a copy that night which Matt signed for me.

The story focusses on the lives of a handful of characters who live on Deloume Road. The chapters are short, each centering on one character. Almost every chapter commences with an event from the previous chapter, but from a different character’s perspective. I thought this worked very well. It reminded me of a poetic form, the pantoum, where lines from a stanza repeat in the next stanza, and so a sort of connecting loop or thread is established. Each chapter is short, making the book a relatively easy read. The author builds strong images of the events of one summer on the island.

The characters are well constructed, and I found myself caring about them, which is not always the case with books I’ve read recently: two brothers, one of whom is handicapped in some way; their best friend, a clumsy lad; another boy, with abusive parents; a Korean woman who married a local man; a refugee from Europe working as the local butcher; a veteran of the Korean war; the veteran’s wife.

Towards the end I felt that the author was telegraphing the conclusion, but then it took a somewhat different turn. Even so, the ending was perhaps not as strong as the rest of the book.

Overall, a very good read, especially for what I believe is Matt’s first, and so far only, novel.

Matt’s website is: Matthew Hooton

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review: “Deloume Road” by Matthew Hooton

Please tell me what you think?

