Poem a Day 2015 #5 – Do Not Hassle the Stall Owner

Poem number 5 for April 2015. At Port Adelaide Fisherman’s Wharf market today, there was a particularly grumpy man selling very cool looking toy steam boats. He claims that nobody else has them, but I’m pretty sure it’s the same as the one in the youtube video above. He has a sign saying “Don’t hassle the boat” – but I think it really means “don’t bother me unless you’re going to give me cash”.

It’s had a hard day

puttering around

the washing up bowl

 

Do not take photographs of the boat

 

Unless you are going

to buy one or at least

something from my stall

 

Do not interrupt me reading my newspaper

 

I can’t be bothered telling you

about my fascinating boat

unless of course you buy one

 

Do not think you can find a boat like this anywhere else

 

You won’t. I’m the only person in the world

who has them and I’m pretty sure

you don’t deserve to have one too.

 
Postscript:
For a far more poetic view of the visit to Port Adelaide, see here:

Copyright Mike Hopkins 2015

6 thoughts on “Poem a Day 2015 #5 – Do Not Hassle the Stall Owner

    • You know we thought of trying to take a photo surreptitiously, but I reckoned that if he saw us doing so, he would have gone bananas. Not sure I’d take the risk.

Please tell me what you think?

