Poem a Day 2015 #3 – Work Blues Sonnet

Poem number 3 for April 2015, following on again from Kathryn‘s suggestion that I should write more poems about work. I found a formula for writing a ‘blues sonnet’ at http://www.poewar.com/poetry-prompts. Following a formula saves having to invent a form (and usually ends up with a formula poem). And yes I know a sonnet usually has 14 lines and this one does – I’ve just repeated the last 2 lines as a refrain.

And it comes with a language warning.

Work Blues Sonnet

This job has almost brought me to my knees

This job it has me swinging in the breeze

It drains my soul it leaves me begging “please…”

 

The pay is fine, the people are ok

The cash is good, it meets the bills I pay

Monotony’s the theme of every day

 

The project plan, the cash flow, NPV

The costs and benefits, consultants’ fees

Have never saved a life or helped world peace

 

The bureaucrats spend all their days indoors

With whiskey bottles in their bottom drawers

Their pasty faces mark them out as bores

 

I said this job it drives me up the wall

A highly paid pastime that means damn all

 

Yeah

I said this job it drives me up the wall

A highly paid pastime that means fuck all

 

 

 

Copyright Mike Hopkins 2015

 

4 thoughts on “Poem a Day 2015 #3 – Work Blues Sonnet

Please tell me what you think?

