Poem a Day 2014: google poetics

Last year I tried a few google translate poems. For instance, I fed a line of the Australian National Anthem back and forth through dozens of google translate languages, to see how the line was transformed by multiple translations.

This year, I’ve come across google poetics, a site dedicated to constructing poems from google’s autocomplete suggestions. Have a look at some of them here.

So what you do is start typing in the google search bar, and see what suggestions the autocomplete function gives you. Sometimes they can be interesting. I’ve grouped six of them together for this exercise.

google predict

 © Mike Hopkins 2014
9 thoughts on “Poem a Day 2014: google poetics

  1. I think these work really well! I did a few from that site last year but they weren’t terribly interesting. You’ve made me think about revisiting that process! Well done. (I hope this comment makes it, I’m having difficulty again with signing in.) JL

Please tell me what you think?

