Poem a Day 2013 #13: What a Runner Sees

parkrunfeb13

Poem number 13. I run pretty much every day. I see people. People see me.

What a Runner Sees

I see an early morning path

the sun through the trees

feel the breeze around my body

the up, down forward motion of my body.

 

She sees a sweaty, heavy breathing man

a threat, a potential attacker.

 

I see a queue of cars

one stressed driver per vehicle

going nowhere, belching fumes

a gap in the traffic to dart across the road.

 

They see another bloody runner

with nothing better to do

sprinting, flouting the road rules.

 

I see a koala, trotting the pavement languidly

looking for a way to climb the wire fence

to gum tree security

drivers gawking,  walkers gazing.

 

It sees an upright creature moving faster than it can

a foreign being, a predator, a dangerous animal.

 

I see people walking to offices

checking smartphones, gulping coffee

focussed on anything except the path ahead

minds cluttered with stress and trivia.

 

They don’t see me at all.

___________________________________________________

Copyright Mike Hopkins 2013

4 thoughts on “Poem a Day 2013 #13: What a Runner Sees

  1. Hi Mike . I read your running poem. Nice sentiments. Love all of that and want the kaola !!!I broke my arm but only a tiny break 1mm in the head of the radius. I fell running. I was with the running club so I was well looked after. Got a black eye, grazed knees,bruised left arm. Got my left arm in a sling. Its getting better all the time. Happened on Thursday and Tash was running with me. I cant drive at the mo but I think I should be able to work tmoz.Love Liz xx Date: Sat, 13 Apr 2013 06:33:02 +0000 To: lizevans@live.com

Please tell me what you think?

