Poem a Day – 22 – Ctrl Alt Delete

I’ve committed to writing a poem a day for the month of April as part of National Poetry Writing Month.

22nd April

A list poem drawing on my I.T. background

Ctrl Alt Delete

Time

to reboot my brain

refresh my memory

 

internalise my external drive

repair my registry

empty my recycle bin

 

review my root directory

modulate my communications protocols

prune my social network

 

locate new hotspots

let go of old favourites

re-route my router

 

remove stale cookies

uninstall unused programs

clean my cache

 

empty my buffers

flush my streams

refill my cartridges

 

clean my head

firm up my firmware

pull down my partitions

 

examine connections

to my peripherals

find the escape key

 

copyright Mike Hopkins 2012
7 thoughts on “Poem a Day – 22 – Ctrl Alt Delete

  1. As an old, I mean ex-, programmer myself, I like it of course. But I would’ve liked it anyway.

    Note for when you review these poems later: you ‘cheated’ on line 2 of the last stanza (& maybe on line 1 too). It alone doesn’t start with a verb; and/or lines 1 & 2 aren’t self-contained, line 2 being the rest of line 1. But I forgive you

Please tell me what you think?

