Poem a Day for April – 12, 13

I’ve committed to writing a poem a day for the month of April as part of National Poetry Writing Month.


Previous days’ poems are in the earlier posts.

 

13th April

Pursuit

Sometimes when I’m running

in my air celled gel shoes

dri-tech vest and shorts

down a dirt path

distracted by daily trivia

 

the sunlight

between trees

that strobe effect

triggers flashback glimpses

 

of a previous self

that 20 million year ago self

hairy, mud caked

chasing naked

but for an animal skin

perhaps a spear in one gnarled hand

my big calloused feet

untroubled by sharp stones


my mind focussed only

on pursuit

__________________________________________

12th April

Need to Know

Amo amas amat

amamus amatis amant

amāvī  amāvistī amāvit

amāvimus  amāvistis  amāvērunt


Bellum bellum bellum

belli bello bello

bella bella bella

bellorum bellis bellis


was all I learned at school

about love and war


all poems copyright Mike Hopkins 2012
7 thoughts on “Poem a Day for April – 12, 13

  1. Hee hee MH, love it. Now you’re bringing the classics on our wagon cruise – even if it is just to decline two verbs! Well done!

  2. I like this one, Mike, simple and thought-provoking. Great photo too. The ‘throwback to caveman’ moment (you witness plenty in pubs and nightclubs, but this one is so much nicer!) leaves us wondering about the pursuit: is the narrator pursuing or running for his life? Great work. 🙂

  3. PS ‘Anonymous’ is the new Jen this evening, MH… I can’t comment as Jennifer Liston and I don’t particularly want to use Wordsworx all the time. I’m sure I commented as Jennifer Liston ages ago so I don’t understand. Anyway, it’s ME!

Please tell me what you think?

