Reading at Adelaide Writers’ Week on Saturday

Adelaide Writers' Week

Adelaide Writers' Week

I’ll be on the East Stage at Writers’ Week this Saturday (3rd March) between 5 and 5:30, reading my piece “The Adelaide Taxi Driver’s Prayer”. It’s part of the launch of the 2012 Friendly Street Anthology “Flying Kites”, in which I have two poems.  Thanks to the editors, Judy Dally and Louise McKenna, for inviting me.

Not sure there’ll be too many taxi drivers there, but you never know.

I’m really pleased to have been asked to do this, as it’s a poem that still makes me laugh, and hopefully will get the same reaction from the Writers’ Week crowd.

I’ve put the poem on here previously, but here it is again:

The Adelaide Taxi Driver’s Prayer

(after Ian Dury)

Our cabfare, which starts in Cavan

Hallett Cove be thy aim

Thy Kingswood come

Thy Willaston

In Hove as it is in Hendon

Give us Largs Bay and Birkenhead

And forgive us our Crafers West

As we forgive those that Crafers against us

And lead us not into Keswick station

But deliver us from Frewville

For thine is the Findon

The Paralowie and the Salisbury

Rostrevor, Rostrevor

Mile End.

12 thoughts on “Reading at Adelaide Writers’ Week on Saturday

  1. congratulations, Mike; it’s a very good poem. I’ll see if I can make it. Haven’t seen a program yert but I’m off to the library tomorrow so should pick one up then

  2. Congrats on being asked to read at Writers Week Mike, The Adelaide Taxi Drivers Prayer is an absolute ripper – giving me a good laugh again. It crossed my mind that you could probably do something similar with a Hail Mary. (Hailing a cab at St Marys) – your brand of poetic humour is very refreshing. Paradise be with you.

    cheers

    Simon Hanson

  3. Love the witticism, Mike. And there’s nothing like hearing a work read or performed by its Creator…is there…!?

    Cheers and congratulations!

    • Went well thanks John. Big crowd – biggest I’ve ever read to. Got good audience reaction, seemed to be plenty of belly laughs, and lots of people came up afterwards and said how much they enjoyed it.

Please tell me what you think?

