Short and Twisted

I heard yesterday that one of my prose poems, “The Collector” has been selected for inclusion in “Short and Twisted 2012″”

http://www.celapenepress.com.au/

The poem is definitely the weirdest piece I’ve ever written, and is short, so will go well with a lot of other ‘short and twisted’ pieces. It arose out of a chance meeting with a woman I used to work with. When I enquired what she was doing these days, she told me she was collecting tissue samples from men!  Turns out she was working in a laboratory which does tests on men’s prostate biopsies.

My mind ran a bit wild with this thought, and “The Collector” resulted. I’ve performed it at a couple of gigs, and it has got good responses from the audience, ranging from raucous laughter to shocked bemusement.

Anyway, I can’t reprint it until after “Short and Twisted 2012” has been published (around May 2012 I think), so you’ll have to wait.

6 thoughts on “Short and Twisted

  1. Ever read ‘The Collector’ by John Fowles? Probably the most chilling story I’ve ever read… & a masterpiece of POV.
    Can’t wait to read your poem, Mike. I had a story in S&T 2011. Submitted one this time (which I thought was better) & wasn’t successful. You never can tell what will be accepted & what won’t. Congratulations!

    • I read several John Fowles about 30 years ago: The Magus, French Lieutenant’s Woman. Not sure if I read The Collector. Will look it up. Yes, selections by publications and in competitions can be mystifying at times.

Please tell me what you think?

