Poem for the first day of the year

I took up a challenge to write a poem for every day of the month of January. I made a reasonable start, and then faltered when I went away to Goolwa for a week. You would think with time on my hands that it would be easier to write, but sometimes it seems like the opposite is true.

Anyway, I quite like the very first one I wrote, on new year’s day. Here it is:

1st January 2012

The new year delivers itself

cuts loose from its expiring parent

stretches out, flaunting a flawless body

unblemished by broken promises

undamaged by dashed hopes

every bit the potential champion

it takes

    its first

          tentative

                 step

5 thoughts on “Poem for the first day of the year

  1. Hey Mike, This thought just occurred to me. I reckon the last line should be broken up:

    it takes its first
    tentative
    step

    Perhaps even format it slightly, something like this:

    it takes its first
    tentative
    step

    Just a thought.

Please tell me what you think?

